.cred a:link { color: #FFFFFF; font-size: 11px; } .cred a:visited { color: #FFFFFF; font-size: 11px; } .cred a:hover { color:#FFD9C7 font-size: 11px; } -->

 

 

 

If you would like to take a stroll through the past, the Richard Wall House Museum in Elkins Park offers a unique glimpse into Cheltenham Township's history. The museum is situated in the Township's 13.2-acre Wall Park, located at Church Road and Wall Park Drive, just 1/10 mile west of Old York Road in Elkins Park.

 

 Dated 1682 and listed on state and national historic registers, the house museum features four floors of exhibits, a springhouse, a smoke house and a carriage house. The museum’s extraordinary displays include a Roaring 20s room, an extensive 19th century tool collection, fashion displays, a Colonial bedroom and kitchen, a military exhibit, and a nursery with a five-foot electrified dollhouse.

Present house and grounds

 

The museum is open on Sundays from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM. Tours are available. Special and group tours are available by appointment. Admission is free.

 

The Cheltenham Township Historical Commission, which oversees the operation of the house museum, also welcomes donations of historic items in good condition for the museum’s collection. For more information, call 215-887-9159.

 

With an assigned a date in 1682, the Richard Wall House was built by one of the Township's founding fathers, Richard Wall. Wall was one of the original purchasers of the land that eventually formed Cheltenham Township, land that was sold by William Penn. The house is listed on State and National Registers of Historic Places and had the distinction of being the oldest Pennsylvania house in continuous residence until rehabilitation began. It is also one of the oldest Quaker Meeting Houses still standing in America.

 

The Wall Paper - July 2010 edition

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Website Courtesy of the Art Institute of Philadelphia
-->